Welcome to Shipping Online!   [Sign In]
Back to Homepage
Already a Member? Sign In
News Content

China implements low sulphur fuel rule at major ports

IN line with China's Emission Control Area (ECA) regulations, all ships calling at selected ports are required to switch to low-sulphur fuel with a sulphur content equivalent to 0.5 per cent m/m for one hour after berthing to one hour before unberthing.

This rule applies to the ports of: Shanghai, Ningbo, Zhoushan, Tianjin, Qinhuangdao, Tangshan-Caofeidian, Jingtang, Huanghua, Qinghuangdao, Jiaxing, as well as ports in Taizhou-Zhejiang province, reports GAC Hot Port News. 

Within the Yangtze River delta the ports that must follow this rule are: Taicang, Changshu, Zhangjiagang, Nantong, Jiangyin, Jingjiang, Changzhou, Yangzhou, Taizhou, Zhenjiang and Nanjing. 

In Guangzhou, the affected ports are Xinsha, Huangpu and Nansha. 

In addition the ports of Hong Kong, Shenzhen, Dongguan and Zhuhai must also comply with the new regulation.

Effective from January 1, 2018, the ECA regulation will also be implemented at Dalian, Panjin, Jinzhou, Bayuquan and Huludao. 

From the same date, ECA regulations will be implemented at Tianjin, Qinhuangdao, Huanghua, Caofeidian and Jingtang. At these ports ships must use the low sulphur fuel while berthing.
About Us| Service| Membership and Fee| AD Service| Help| Sitemap| Links| Contact Us| Terms of Use